Shepwell School Management Committee/Governing Body

 We are delighted that the Management Committee is made up of representatives from relevant agencies involved with Shepwell Short Stay School. This means that partners now have a direct input in the development and monitoring of the school. To ensure success in this area, we have engaged the services of Roland Robert a National Leader of Governance to assist us.

The headteacher is responsible for day-to-day management of the school. The role of the Governing Body is to provide strategic management, and to act as a “critical friend”, supporting the work of the headteacher and other staff. They are the largest volunteer force in the country.

Shepwell School has a delegated budget to cover salaries, running costs, maintenance and equipment; the Governing Body is responsible for managing this budget. They can decide how many and what types of staff to employ, which equipment to upgrade or replace and what the priorities are for implementing new strategies and initiatives.

Governors also have a role in monitoring the school’s progress, and in setting annual targets for the school’s performance and for the headteacher (and ensuring that the headteacher sets targets for other staff.

Management Committee/Governing Body membership Details


Name Tenure Date Appointed Date Stepped Down Business and Pecuniary Interests Meeting Attendance 2017/18
Clare Barratt

(Vice Chair)

External 02.12.14 Commissioning Manager, NHS Wolverhampton CCG 3 of 3
Mark Beech LA 11.07.17 None 3 of 3
Marcell Brearley Parent 13.02.19 None NA
Lynne Cherry External 20.05.15 Head Teacher and Governor, Hillary Primary School 3 of 3
Davina Clacy External 10.10.18 Head Teacher and Governor, Old Church Primary School NA
Beverley Higgins External 13.02.19 None NA
Jackie Hurmson External 05.02.14 None 3 of 3
Lisa Mills Parent 12.10.16 03.10.18 None 2 of 3
Diane Osborne


External 16.01.16 Senior Commissioning Manager, NHS Birmingham CCG 3 of 3
Claire Parker Staff 02.10.14 03.10.18 None 2 of 3
Stephen Pritchard-Jones Ex Officio (Head Teacher) 01.01.10 Governor, Hillary Primary School, Walsall 3 of 3
Sarah Richards External 19.10.16 28.02.18 None 0 of 2
David Spittle External 10.10.18 None NA
Richard Taylor External 18.05.16 None 3 of 3
Alan Wills External 25.06.14 16.05.18 None 1 of 2
Sharon Wilson Staff 10.10.18 None NA